Awbrey Glen selected to host 2011 Oregon Open

Updated: December 3, 2010

Awbrey Glen Golf Club has been named to host the 2011 Oregon Open Invitational. The Bunny Mason design course also hosted the 1995, 96, 97 and 2000 Northwest Opens. The Oregon Open Invitational field will consist of 208 of the top professionals and amateurs from the Northwest. The 54-hole tournament will be held June 14-16, 2011.

“Our players are excited to return to Awbrey Glen for this championship. Awbrey Glen is very popular with our players and provides an excellent test for the championship” said Jeff Ellison, Executive Director of the Pacific Northwest Section PGA. Mark Amberson, General Manager/COO of Awbrey Glen said, “The membership at the Club is very supportive of the club hosting this event and looking forward to seeing some great golf. We have always felt that it is important for us to give back to the game of golf, our goal is to host a regional event every third of fourth year. After hosting Northwest Open for four years we have hosted regional events for the Oregon Golf Association, Oregon Junior Golf Association, and the Pacific Northwest Golf Association.”

As one of the oldest events in Section history, the Oregon Open Invitational boasts an impressive list of past champions including the likes of Tommy Armour, Horton Smith, Peter Jacobsen, and Jerry Mowlds. Along the way, there have been innumerable amazing shots, record setting performances, and dramatic conclusions.

Since the year 2000, the champion has been decided on the final hole or in a playoff seven times. If recent history holds, the tournament won’t be decided until the final scorecard is turned in. Last year was no different as Casey McCoy narrowly missed an eagle putt on the final green to force a play-off. With that miss, amateur Derek Berg took home the title.