Kent golfer wins Champions

Updated: June 3, 2019

The 10th Washington State Golf Association Champion of Champions concluded at The Home Course in DuPont, Wash. This year’s field consisted of 145 champions from around the state of Washington and Northern Idaho, competing in four divisions – Men, Senior Men, Women and Senior Women. It was the largest and strongest field in the history of the championship.

Nathan Cogswell of Kent won the Men’s title, Victoria Fallgren of Spokane won the Women’s, Alex Stamey of Mill Creek won the Senior Men’s and Beth Wrigley of Spokane won the Senior Women’s.

Cogswell was the last man standing in the Men’s division, finishing with rounds of 68-67. In a three-way race to the finish with Andrew Von Lossow of Spokane and defending champion Jon McCaslin of Olympia, Cogswell caught fire early in the final round, with birdies on seven of his first 12 holes. He had it to 11-under par and seemingly in control of the outcome, but Von Lossow began his charge with four birdies on the back nine, and when Cogswell bogeyed 14 and 18, his lead was down to one.