Coston wins PGA Professional event, leads solid contingent of NW professionals to national tourney

Updated: October 2, 2010

PGA Professional Jeff Coston of Semiahmoo G&CC (Blaine, WA) won the PGA Professional Championship for the eighth time after posting rounds of 66-69-71-206 at Canyon River Golf Club in Missoula, Mt.

Scott Erdmann of Oswego Lake CC (Lake Oswego, OR) finished in second place one stroke back while Rob Gibbons of Arrowhead GC (Molalla, OR) and Darek Franklin of Willamette Valley CC (Canby, OR) finished in third place.

The PGA Professional is a 54-hole individual competition. Jeff Coston, Scott Erdmann, Rob Gibbons, Darek Franklin, Ryan Malby, Brian Thornton, Mike Montgomery and Ryan Benzel all advanced to the 44th National PGA Championship and will play Hershey Country Club in Hershey, Pennsylvania – June 26-29, 2011.