PGA Tour prize for Sahalee Players winner

Updated: August 3, 2023

Sahalee Country Club, Washington men’s golf and Fortinet announced that the low amateur individual winner of the 2023 Sahalee Players Championship will play the following weekend in the Fortinet Championship, a PGA Tour tournament in Napa Valley on Sept. 11-17, 2023.

The tournament will be played September 9-10 in Sammamish, Wash., and for the first time, will feature a field of college teams. The UW men’s golf team will be joined by Arizona, Arizona State, Duke, Ilinois, Oklahoma State, Pepperdine, Stanford, Texas, Texas Tech, USC, and Wake Forest.


In previous years, the Sahalee Players Championship was open to the top amateur golfers from around the world. This year’s event marks a new change in strategy for the tournament – and a new perk with the exemption into a PGA Tour event. The event was not played in from 2020 to 2022 and returns in 2023 as a collegiate event.

Some notable past winners:

    • Sahith Theegala 2017,

    • Peter Uihlein 2010

    • Nick Taylor 2009,

    • Kyle Stanley 2006,

    • Ryan Moore 2004,

    • Casey Martin 1993.